Grilled Leeks and Tomatoes


This is an experiment I tried over the weekend.  It had limited success.  It tasted good.  But I hadn’t thought of the mayo melting when it was put on the grill.

Leeks and Tomatoes before being grilled.

Leeks and Tomatoes before being grilled.

Here’s what I did:

I trimmed the very top leaves and the bottom off the leek. This left me with the tender pale green part of the plant.  I sliced the leek in half.  Make sure to rinse off whatever grit is lodged between the leek’s layers. I laid the leek halves out on foil.  To make the filling I chopped some fresh red onion and yellow onion from the garden (tops included).  I added 1/4 cup olive oil mayo, two finely chopped garlic cloves, and two slices of bacon, chopped.  I had some leftover bacon from BLTs the night before.  I also threw in some chopped garlic chives and basil from the garden. I sliced some fresh Roma tomatoes from the garden and arranged them on top of some washed, rainbow Swiss chard from the garden.  I topped the tomatoes and Swiss chard with grated Parmesan cheese.  I folded the foil around everything like a square packet.  Then it got put on the grill for about ten to fifteen minutes.

Here’s the result:

Leeks with filling and tomatoes after being grilled.

Leeks with filling and tomatoes after being grilled.

Leave a Reply

