No Bun No Problem


Yummy venison burger topped with veggies.

Yummy venison burger topped with veggies.

This yummy venison burger needs no bun.  Instead I topped it with some great veggies.  Here’s what I did:

I took three baby bella mushrooms, washed them, and sliced them.  I cooked them in a pan with some olive oil over medium heat.  I also added some rainbow Swiss chard from the garden.  Add some finely minced garlic and finely chopped basil.  I used purple and sweet basil from my garden.  Saute (cook) for about ten to fifteen minutes.  Or until mushrooms are tender.  Turn heat off and cover with a lid.  Take a avocado and slice in half.  Remove the pit.  Scoop out the rest.  Slice cross-wise.  Top your burger with the mushroom/Swiss chard and avocados.  There you go!  A great burger with no gluten!  Other ideas for low calorie toppings include:

-sliced onion

-seeded, sliced, and roasted Anaheim peppers

-salsa

Leave a Reply

