Salsa Topping for Venison Burgers


I have never dated a deer hunter before.  Now I’m engaged to a wonderful man who loves, loves, loves hunting.  My family doesn’t hunt.  My dad owns a few guns but I’ve never spent any time at the hunting range.

Now I’m learning to shoot and loving every minute of it.   I’m also enjoying cooking my hunter’s fresh deer meat.  Venison is a lean meat.  For me, this is wonderful news because in the last year I’ve become more conscious of my health.  And I love burgers.  I love meat.  So needless to say, I’ve come up with lots of variations on the venison burger.

Salsa/Shrimp Topping

This one combine my love for mexican with my love of seafood.  Just imagine guacamole met up with a fisherman and it was love at first sight.

Ingredients:

1 bag salad shrimp

1 cup homemade salsa

1 cup guacamole

2 strips crumbled bacon

1 tbsp. butter

Directions:

Take a small saucepan and melt the butter on med. heat.  Set the guacamole aside in a mixing bowl.  Once the  butter has melted, add the bag of salad shrimp.  Make sure the shrimp is thawed and rinsed.  The shrimp can be thawed quickly by running them under cold water for about ten minutes.

Add salsa to the shrimp.  Allow to cook until warm.  Drain if you find there’s extra water in the pan.  Do this by pressing a lid over the shrimp and salsa.  Allow the extra liquid to drain into the sink.  Be VERY CAREFUL.  Remember you are dealing with a hot pan.

Dump the shrimp and salsa into the mixing bowl.  Mix the guacamole and bacon in.  Top on your venison burger.  Enoy!

Leave a Reply

